Authority In A 60 Second Soundscape

I took a conventional approach with my work, in that it tells a story. I employed a constant background whirring of sirens, a heartrate monitor and haziness to give a sense of urgency and affix the story to its hospital setting with everything heard from the POV of a man in a coma. In my piece, the male voice is the surrogate decision maker for his comatose father, a very affecting authoritative role for anyone to undertake. My motivation for this idea sprung from a short story I once wrote, and my passing by a hospital while commuting home. I wanted to tell this brief story in flashes of consciousness by this man who can hear the lonesome nurse dutifully visiting, the incomprehensible doctor, and his poor anguished son struggling to come to terms with what the doctor’s say should be done.

Leave a Reply

