Camera-less Film: Rhythm

The final version of my project is an evolution of my previously proposed concept, met with the sobering reality that the film I was initially after simply couldn’t be obtained. Nonetheless, I utilised three separate found-footage films that already conveyed some motion, and edited them together so the piece starts at a slow tempo punctuated by moments of darkness, with the tempo building then suddenly presenting two of clips looped/reversed as the crescendo and then rhythmically slowing down towards the conclusion in a soothing manner reminiscent of the beginning. I liked the way that Erik Gandini used repetition as a technique and I thought I could adapt it in a rhythmic manner, particularly at the end of the piece with the flowing motion of the man’s hand that I emphasized with the white orb I scratched onto each frame to give some weight to each movement.

Leave a Reply

